Tick, Tick, Tick, BOOOM!

Job vs career vs unemployment

Jobs, you can take ’em or leave ’em! Ok, well in this current economic climate (my new saying) you really can’t.

Even if you are the most qualified in a mile of CV’s there is no possibility that you’re ever going to reach the last hurdle of a 2nd interview. I should know,  I’ve had both long bouts of unemployment and internships where even after high praise for a job well done I’ve been met with the dreaded “We would love to keep you on but (insert incomprehensible business jargon)”.  After recently securing a new gig as a Social community manager (mini yaaay), the sheer weight of starting a new job, the responsibility and workload that may fall across my desk finally dawned on me.

As anyone can tell you, I don’t shy away from hard work however this is different, or is it? I’ve mainly worked in smaller companies or brands and to now move into an agency that manages a huge portfolio of  brands, products and services just makes me a tad apprehensive. I’m stoked to have the job (did I mention my ‘mini yaaay before) but this is a feeling I can’t seem to shake.

Pull yourself together!

I’ve got the job, I start next week and most importantly they felt I was qualified so I need to stop all this whining and just pull myself together I hear you cry?

Entering back into the unemployment pool is a daunting prospect for anyone to stomach and with most of my generation, the millennials, bearing most of the brunt only time can tell when you’ll truly find a job you want, deserve and that equates to whichever qualifications you decided to burden yourself with.  University never really was for me, I was more a ‘go get ’em’ type of kid who liked doing things straight away. I hated being told how something was done when showing me would’ve proved more fruitful. Sometimes jumping before I’ve looked hasn’t always served me well but I’ve learnt invaluable lessons that I don’t regret knowing today. With still so much to learn from the School of hard knocks, I can more than hope that my stubbornness and resilience to get the job done is yet to be tested to its limit.

Interviewing for any job can be daunting process but what if it’s a field you’ve only been working in for three months? Such was my case. Though I’ve been working at Great British Chefs as a Digital Marketing and Social Media Executive, I’ve only held that post for a brief period of time and going out in search of full time employment and trying to sound like you know what you’re talking about is another thing. With any post, analyzing the job requirements and experience required is the golden rule but with such a demanding job market these requirements of late have been plain diabolical. I saw a post for a junior digital executive where they asked for someone with at least 3 years experience doing SEO, social media, HTML and website building. They might as well have asked for a part time Jedi as far as I was concerned. With the presumption that those coming out of uni would be the candidates for this role, the long standing question of annoyance always surfaces: How am I supposed to get experience if you won’t give me the opportunity to get experience.

Internships you say? Well yes, internships can and are a great bridge to getting the job you want but in the same breath many can be a pain and the pros can soon fall short of the cons. Some don’t pay, you have to work long hours and can be extremely demanding if you’re studying at the same time. Fashion is one of the industries guilty of this crime, take my word on that.  One of the key points of advice that I would give to someone looking to get into a new field is to try and show your interest outside of the application process. As hackneyed as it is, blogs work for a reason. You can start getting your words out there (even if you’re not great at writing like myself), you can start following industry experts and commenting on their blogs or social media channels. Or if a blog seems like too much work why not start a Facebook page and ask your friends to like it. Not only is it something that you can update whilst posting on your own personal page but you can keep posting short and entertaining, all you need is a few words and an engaging picture.

I’ve been doing all these things. Though it may not be amaze-balls and shining with excellence, it’s allowed me to share my tone of voice on things happening in the industry I have a huge interest in. I run two Facebook pages, a Google+ page and a blog on two different platforms as well as a twitter account. It doesn’t have to be boring, if you really don’t have the time to create a blog or a Facebook page OR a twitter account (which I can’t see why you wouldn’y), find a channel that works for you and exploit the hell out of it. If you’re a job seeker I’d certainly take a look at Linkedin. With all the new updates they’re implementing, it’s becoming a great space to talk to recruiters and share your thoughts on what’s happening in your chosen field and employment overall. I recently engaged in a mini thread and as a result had my name mentioned in a post about social media recruiting – something I’m sort of chuffed about.

All and all, when you finally do secure that placement just remember the determination you had to get there and keep building upon it every day even if you don’t know what you’re doing half the time. Roosevelt couldn’t have said it better himself: “When you are asked if you can do a job, tell ’em, ‘Certainly I can!’ Then get busy and find out how to do it.”

Leave a Reply

