Growth hacking – Is it all just marketing faddism?

Image

“Growth hacker needed.”

“Head of Growth Hacking wanted”

“Do you have growth hacking experience?”

These are all terms that I’ve seen floating around the digital marketing sphere for quite some time now, and for the life of me I haven’t the foggiest clue what it truly means. The idea of it being based on quantitative research was both the start and end of my understanding of the subject. However, after taking a read through David Chaffey’s column over on Smart Insights titled ‘What can established businesses learn from growth hacking’, it seems it really is just a sexier term for optimization.

Perhaps I stand corrected, though they are aligned concepts a ‘growth hacker’ aims to be a “…hybrid of marketer and coder” as quoted from Andrew Chen “one who looks at the traditional question of “How do I get customers for my product?” and answers with A/B tests, landing pages, viral factor, email deliverability, and Open Graph”. Still sounds like marketing optimization right?

I’m still in decipher mode, so I recommend that you take a read of both David Chaffey’s column and Andrew Chen’s blog, if you too are struggling to understand just what this new ‘buzz’ word is about!

Leave a comment